Food & Recipes


Cool Stuff

Home » events

Dallas Summer Musicals Celebrates High Schools from Across North Texas

Submitted by on May 21, 2018 – 7:23 pmNo Comment

Dallas Summer Musicals - High School Theatre Awards - North Texas Kids

High school students, parents, friends, arts advocates, celebrities and city officials from all over North Texas celebrated as winners and scholarship recipients were announced on Thursday, May 17 at the 7th Annual Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards (DSM HSMTA).

Patterned after Broadway’s Tony Awards, DSM HSMTA celebrates the power of the arts and its ability to significantly improve all areas of education and creativity. Best Musical Award went to Plano Senior High School’s production of Jekyll & Hyde and $55,000 in scholarships were awarded to deserving students pursuing degrees in both theatre and non-theatre majors.

“DSM looks forward to this event every year because we love acknowledging the passion in these young performers – what a wonderful evening of outstanding talent. We owe a huge thank-you to all of the teachers, students, DSM staff, volunteers, and North Texas arts community for their dedication, passion and support for this program,” said Kenneth T. Novice, DSM President.

Nominees were given the red carpet treatment, being chauffeured to the Music Hall in vintage convertibles. Their arrivals were announced while photographers snapped away and media cameras streamed live as they walked the red carpet. The show was topped off with a finale of more than one hundred performers made up of students from each participating high school and a shower of popping streamers.

A three-judge panel of entertainment industry professionals and veteran educators visited each high school and judged the performers in 17 categories. Ballots were tabulated by the accounting firm of Grant Thornton – the official ballot professional service partner of the 2016 Tony Awards.

Noah Aguilar, Frenship HS, took home the Best Actor Award and Sierra Roberson, Frenship HS, won the Best Actress Award. Aguilar and Roberson will each receive a $10,000 scholarship and an all-expense paid trip for five days to New York City to represent their high school in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (the Jimmy™ Awards) on June 25.

All winners, participating high schools and their shows can be found on the DSM website.



Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.